We live in a busy, noisy world. On a daily basis we are exposed to many sights, sounds, and smells, too. There’re the sounds of cars, planes, TVs, and radios. The LED lights that constantly shine from our computers, TVs, and power strips have been cited as reasons why people can’t get a good night’s sleep (LED lights suppress the brain's night time production of Melatonin which is needed to regulate our biological clocks).

Oftentimes we will initiate the noise of the TV or radio to mask others noises in our environment or the “noises” of our anxious minds, thus creating a self-fulfilling prophecy of an inescapable noisy world.

How do we find peace of mind in this raucous world? How do we shut out the noise so that we can think and hear our own minds?

I began meditating 40 years ago as a teenager back in the 1970s. I learned Transcendental Meditation (TM), made famous to the hippy world by The Beatles. TM involves sitting in a quiet room while mentally repeating a mantra, a meaningless word that helps you stay focused while you clear your mind.

The problem I had with TM is that it requires a quiet place. I would put a “Do Not Disturb” sign on my bedroom door, and people would do their best to be quiet and tiptoe around my routine. But invariably there would be some noise that disturbed this quietness.

I have found “mindfulness” to be more effective. Mindfulness, which has its origins in Buddhist meditation, is the act of paying attention to the present moment without judgment. With your eyes closed you pay attention to your breathing and the world around you. You are aware of sounds but you do not judge them as “disturbing.”

In mindfulness you are striving to live in the present moment, “the now.” As such, you are not worrying about what might happen in the future. You are not reliving and regretting past mistakes. The only thing that matters is what is happening at that very second in time.

Presumably you are sitting in a safe environment so you have no present worries. Naturally your mind will wander and that’s ok. Gently release your thoughts and bring yourself back to the present moment. Hear what there is to hear, be it cars out on the street, a plane overhead, or the TV in the next room. Do not judge the sound (“It’s so noisy!”), only be aware that it is there.

By not judging we let go of our stress. Instead of seeing the world from our own standards, our own set of rules, we become part of the world. We are like alien observers who simply record what they see and hear before trying to interpret any meaning. We are like a video camera that hears and sees, but does not judge.

When I first started trying to live in the “now,” I would do so for seconds at a time. I would mentally count the seconds until my mind wandered from the present moment into the past or future. Seventeen seconds of mindfulness became my goal.

Now I just do it for however long I can several times throughout the day. Usually I do it with my eyes open, preferring to look at the green lushness of a tree out my window. I am aware of my surroundings, the sights and sounds, but I do not judge what I hear or see.

I still do mantra meditation, although it is more a hybrid of mindfulness and meditation. Instead of doing it for 15 or twenty minutes, I do it for just a few minutes. I often do it while travelling; while in an airport or on a plane—it helps pass the time.

Another way I find peace in my life is by using the “Fire Balls” technique. This technique involves imagining a small ball of fire in the palm of your hand. It is like a little sun in which you are in control of. My fire ball for peace is colored green. While focusing on this green ball of fire, I feel the emotion of peace inside me. I feel the calmness and tranquility.

This technique is based on the Law of Attraction and helps to bring peace into your life. It is an effective technique for whatever feelings you want to attract into your life: Peace, energy, love, happiness, prosperity, etc.

I encourage you to try the above-mentioned techniques of meditation, mindfulness, and “fire balls” to find some quiet peace in your life. The health benefits, both physical and mental, have been scientifically proven. But most of all, you will feel the proof in your own tranquility.



Leave a Reply.